Hearts of Texas Luncheon

Hearts of Texas Luncheon

Established in 2007, the Hearts of Texas Awards Luncheon is VolunteerNow's® signature event. It showcases the importance of volunteerism in the community by recognizing outstanding leaders in North Texas. These inspirational volunteers have dedicated themselves to the community through the donation of their time, talent, and resources.

12th Annual Event: Celebrating Roger Staubach

VolunteerNow will honor former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Roger Staubach with the 2018 VolunteerNow Lifetime Achievement Award for his commitment to transforming North Texas through volunteerism. Mr. Staubach will receive the award at the 12th Annual Hearts of Texas Luncheon on Thursday, April 26, 2018 at the Belo Mansion. Honorary co-chairs are David and Carolyn Miller, both of whom have received this award in previous years. Event co-chairs are Cheryl Alston and Lisa Ragland.

Roger Staubach has served his country and community for decades. From putting his career on hold for his Navy service, to raising millions for critical North Texas nonprofits, Mr. Staubach embodies the spirit of giving. He and his family foundation have supported a variety of organizations including Children’s Cancer Fund, United Way of America, the Dallas Arboretum, Vogel Alcove, Genesis Women’s Shelter, Visiting Nurse Association, and the American Heart Association. Mr. Staubach received the 2006 Congressional Medal of Honor Patriot Award, and the J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award from SMU, and founded Allies in Service to connect veterans to employment, healthcare, housing and education.

Thank you to our sponsors!


  • Lyda Hill
  • The David B. Miller Family Foundation


  • Gene Jones and Charlotte Jones Anderson


  • CHRISTUS Health
  • Texas Instruments
  • Granville C. and Gladys H. Morton Foundation
  • Dian Graves Owen Foundation
  • Marianne and Roger Staubach


  • Roy and Cheryl Alston
  • Phyllis Bernstein
  • Kenneth H. Cooper
  • LegacyTexas
  • Perot Foundation
  • Vin and Caren Prothro Foundation
  • Wells Fargo/Lisa Ragland
  • 7-Eleven


  • Texas Capital Bank
  • Bill Braxton
  • Bob Buford
  • Ben and Sue Casey
  • Hunt Consolidated
  • J.M. Haggar, Jr. Family Foundation
  • ISI
  • Lisa and Peter Kraus
  • Lifeblue
  • Bobby and Lottye Lyle
  • Sharon Stufflebeme
  • Methodist Health Systems


  • Peggy and Richard Allison
  • Nancy Carter
  • Sally and Mark Cullum
  • Melissa and Trevor Fetter
  • Suzi Greenman
  • Leonard and Peggy Riggs
  • Resource Screening, LLC
  • Herb and Donna Weitzman

Click here for sponsorship opportunities

Our 2017 Event

  • Hearts of Texas 2017
  • Hearts of Texas 2017
  • Hearts of Texas 2017
  • Hearts of Texas 2017
  • Hearts of Texas 2017
  • Hearts of Texas 2017
  • Hearts of Texas 2017

VolunteerNow Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

VolunteerNow Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

  • Peggy Allison
  • The Late Ruth Altshuler
  • Charlotte Jones Anderson
  • Laura Bush
  • The Late Governor Bill and the Late Mrs. Rita Clements
  • John Cuellar
  • Linda Custard
  • Melissa and Trevor Fetter
  • Nancy Halbreich
  • Lyda Hill
  • Sheila B. Johnson
  • Gene Jones
  • Junior League of Fort Worth
  • Joan Katz
  • Lisa Kraus
  • Dr. Bobby B. Lyle
  • Janie McGarr
  • Carolyn Miller
  • David B. Miller
  • The Late Phil Montgomery
  • Erle Nye
  • Connie O’Neill
  • Rozanne Rosenthal
  • Texas Jewish Post
  • Donna Arp Weitzman
  • Todd Williams